Kale and Quinoa Salad

DSC_0221

I am really excited to share this kale and quinoa salad recipe that was passed on to me by my cousin. I love kale! It has amazing nutritional value for only a few calories, and it is easy to grow. I planted 12 small kale plants this summer, went away for 2 weeks, and came back to find 12 large kale plants that supplied me with enough of the leafy vegetable well into the fall. This year I hope to be able to start my own plants from seed. I encourage everyone to try growing this plant. http://gentleworld.org/kale-an-easy-beginners-guide-to-growing/

This is actually the first recipe (outside of smoothies) where I used uncooked kale in a recipe. I was a little concerned that the kale would be too crunchy/chewy/bitter, but the warm quinoa and the dressing softened it up and added a nice peppery flavour. Most grain salads like this suggest that you cool the grain before adding to the salad mixture; however, I like my grain salads warm and will often add the just cooked grain to the rest of the ingredients. You can serve it whichever way you prefer. This salad is great because it is very simple to make and has lots of nutritionally dense ingredients.

____________________________________________________________________________________

Kale and Quinoa Salad

Ingredients:

2 cups of water

1 cup of quinoa

10  leaves of kale, cut into bite sized pieces

3 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tsp Dijon mustard

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 – 1 tsp black pepper

1 cup pecans, toasted and chopped

1 cup currants

1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled

Directions:

  1. Bring water to a boil in a saucepan. Mix quinoa into boiling water, cover and reduce to simmer. Cook for about 12 minutes or until water is fully absorbed.
  2. Place kale in a large bowl.
  3. Whisk together olive oil, lemon juice, Dijon mustard, garlic, and pepper. Drizzle over kale.
  4. Add quinoa, pecans, currants, and feta cheese. Toss to mix.

Recipe adapted from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/kale-and-quinoa-salad/

__________________________________________________________________________________

3 thoughts on “Kale and Quinoa Salad

  1. I made it today, so delicious! The combination with dijon mustard, lemon and black pepper is perfect and so refreshing, good choice!

  2. can’t wait to try this recipe. One of my Kale recipes suggests that you rub the dressing into the kale to “bruise” it slightly so it adheres better.
    d

Leave a Reply

